A Moment in May

iris 5-8-2014

At first I feel mad at myself to be locked out of the house. I go around to try to find a way in the back, but (fortunately) we didn’t leave the back door unlocked. I call Leigh at school but she can’t get out of a meeting. I was going to get things done! I was going to go places!

But I realize I have everything I need: my computer, my notebook, pens, a little water left in my water bottle, and half a heart-shaped oatmeal raisin energy bar from Joe Van Gogh.

So I sit on the rocking chair on the front porch and look around. It’s a gorgeous hot May day, maybe the hottest day yet. Across the street I see sprawling clumps of pink dianthus behind a row of buttercups, under the huge reaching limbs of the vine-covered maple. A train horn faintly whines in the distance. Birds call frantically: Tweet! Tweet! Tweet! Tweet! Tweet! Tweet! Tweet! Tweet! I wish I knew which ones they were.

The ceramic rings of the wind chimes my mom gave me clink off-beat. A neighbor I don’t know waves as she strides by. I give a small smile and nod. I feel a light breeze across my face and hear a car door slam. More insistent bird chatter. Now I see a robin dart from branch to branch with a twig in its beak. I’m feeling grateful for my surroundings and a little forgiving of the pollen that’s been sapping my energy and filling up my sinuses for the past month. I think that’s a house finch hopping toward the sidewalk – and now chasing another one in flight across the street. Maybe that’s who was tweeting so insistently before.

And now another sound: a text. I can go get the house key from Leigh. My exile is over. Sigh. Maybe I’ll have to go do something.

One thought on “A Moment in May

  1. Susan Herbert says:

    Glad you got in. My foot surgery has me with limited mobility, but luckily between neighbors, Laura, friends, and John H. I am looking forward to a foot that doesn’t complain when I walk because the old lady bunion is gone!

Leave a Reply

